About Me

About Me

Having been in the workforce for over thirty years, I have found a career I love and which I believe fulfills my God given purpose: helping others learn and become better thinkers through one-on-one tutoring. My work is very rewarding because I can immediately see the fruits of my labor. My goal is to understand how each of my students learn so I better teach them.  While I’m not overly concerned about grades, I know that once a person comprehends the material being taught then he/she can improve his/her grades. Sharing in the joy of passing tests and getting good grades is an added benefit to my work. I enjoy the different ages (from five to fifty) and personalities. I like to have fun as we learn by playing games and supporting an atmosphere of levity.

I am blessed to have held a variety of jobs. As a private tutor, I can draw from all my experiences to aid in my teaching. My career started when I became a park ranger. Nature is a great teacher and getting outdoors is a regular theme you’ll see on The Learning Tutor. I spent eight years working at Pickett’s Mill Battlefield, a Civil War site which is part of Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites. During my years there, I provided research for interpretive programs, led battlefield tours, coordinated activities for school groups, and demonstrated pioneer skills such as candle dipping. As you can see I’ve always been involved in education.

I have spent ten years in the classroom, teaching elementary through college level pupils. After completing my master’s degree, I taught history at the University of West Georgia and Floyd College(now called Highlands College). My focus was not on learning dates but understanding the factors leading to important events. Later, I taught all subjects for fifth and sixth grades at Plantation Christian Academy. For the past eight years, I have worked as a private tutor.

My husband and I have been married for twenty-six years. Jim is the kindest man I know and my biggest fan. We both enjoy wildlife watching whether it’s the butterflies who visit our flowers or the hawks who hunt around our house. We share our home with a sweet calico cat named Angel.

My Services

For the past eight years, I have provided one-on-one help for math, reading, and writing. I also offer test preparation for the math portions of  the ACT, SAT level 1), ASVAB, and numerous other vocational exams. My clients come from the West Georgia area including Carrollton , Villa Rica, Douglasville, and Bremen . I accept ages 5 through adult. Many of my students have been diagnosed with learning disabilities such as ADHD, dyslexia, auditory processing disorder, nonverbal learning disorder, and Aspergers. My pupils have been successful in improving grades, and many have won academic awards and have gone on to take advanced courses. One of my first actions when accepting a new client is to contact his/her teacher so we are coordinating our efforts.
I’m very patient; I understand that a concept may need to be retaught several times before it is mastered. I’m flexible and will adapt to my students’ needs; I provide a balance ball for sitting for those who need some movement while working. I incorporate manipulatives into my sessions for tactile learners. Tutoring sessions are held in my home which is located between Carrollton and Villa Rica. If interested in my services, please call me to schedule a free consultation: 770-836-1099; or email krenhamil@att.net.

Rates: 

Summer 2017: Elementary and Middle School Students: $200/8 hours of one-on-one tutoring to be paid in advance

High School and Adult Students: $240/8 hours